People today know fewer of their neighbors than in the past. Why is this? What can be done to solve this problem?

Since the first communes were created people have been tending to each other, especially the ones who live nearby. However, today neighbors barely know one another, and the amount of personal information they share has decreased over the last few years. This essay will discuss the main reasons for the raise of privacy in local societies and then propose possible solutions.

In my opinion, two possible causes for such behavior are the availability of all sources of information these days and the lack of trust. The internet and new technologies significantly increased the number of content people receive every day and it causes brain overload and fatigue. For example, 90% of all the files on the global web were produced in the last decade, and humanity continues spending time there. Besides that, people do not know what to expect from their neighbors and prefer to avoid new communications and friends. For instance, according to a real estate agencies survey in 2021 only 36% of New York residents are close enough to the next-door persons. Thus, the transformations society faces, have dramatically decreased the quality of the communications between its units, and neighbors are not interested in maintaining relationships.

I believe that this problem can be solved by local outdoor events and online activities for specific districts or buildings. The more reasons for the associations the better, and joint affairs are the best option for individuals to learn each other. The barbeque party, where adults and children can participate, is the most common way to unite the neighbors and this occasion is still relevant. Online chats and groups should be considered as the modern way to share knowledge, and using new technologies erase the fears people may obtain. For instance, in my district, each high-raised house possesses its own WhatsApp chat where all the residents discuss problems and arrange meetings.

Hence, plenty of opportunities are presented nowadays to solve the issue, and the solutions may come in contemporary ways.

To sum up, society, in general, has changed and lost the points of contact which has affected the goodness of relationships they might possess. At the same time, the ones who are willing to converse are able to do so using all the occasions humanity obtains.