Some people believe that violence on television and in computer games has a damaging effect on society. Others deny that these factors have any significant influence on people's behaviour. What is your opinion?

The content produced for mass media has always raised ethical dilemmas in society whether it is television, press or gaming industry. While multiple people consider that cruel episodes have a negative impact on human minds, others do not agree with this statement. As for me, I strongly believe that such scenes do not lead to negative consequences for individuals due to the reasons mentioned hereinafter.

The violation represented in the entertainment industry is not harmful for our society as long as people receive a good upbringing by their family. Undoubtedly, our surroundings like family and friends are linked with the way our character and behaviour is formed. The way we react to what is happening in our life is the reflection of our background and intelligence level which were shaped in the period we were raised. For instance, a lot of my friends play video games and watch horror movies and they are not affected by this at all due to the right life guidelines. Thus, principles and set of life rules play a bigger role in human decision making than external stimulus.

Some opponents of the above-mentioned point of view might argue that displays of violence in the media can increase criminality in society. They opine that people start to feel more tolerant toward violent content day by day because of its high performance in the media. Moreover, defenders of that belief also appeal to the fact that with the existence of the internet in our lives we can no longer control media consumption. However, I disagree with these statements as there is no direct bond between displays of violation and its actual implementation by the wievers. For example, the National Research Group recently has shown that 79% of people between 15-45 believe fighter movies and games help to get rid of everyday stress. Thus, it can be considered, episodes of cruelty in the media can be therapeutic for some people.

Taking everything in consideration, it can be concluded that there is no measurable negative impact of explicit images of cruelty on humans. We do not have to worry about the effects of violent scenes on society because of the level of mankind's education and they can even help people to deal with emotional tension.