The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years.

Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

It is undeniable true that the increasing about the proportion of obesity in young generation more than 10 years ago in western world. There are several factors, which have played a role in this. Also, there are a number of effects of being overweight.

On the one hand, one of the major factors that has contributed to an increase in children’s weight is junk food likes hamburger, french fries, etc. The number of children eating unhealthy food is on the rise, and the increasing number of fast food restaurants is responsible for that. These restaurants provide tasty food to attract children, but these foods contain unhealthy ingredients, such as fat and salt. This occurs because some advertisements encourage children to eat unhealthy meal. Lastly, children do not give time to outdoor activities because they spend more time in electronic devices like watching television or playing games on computers at home, which leads to a sedentary lifestyle. As a result of the above factors, children become overweight.

On the other hand, this then leaves children prone to many problems. They are more likely to suffer from chronic diseases like high blood pressure and diabetes, during their late age of life that led to various risk for their life. In addition, these children can be tortured at school by peers, which can have effects on their mental health like stress, anxiety and insomnia. These problems, in turn, often result in lower productivity at school. Furthermore, they are less likely to be selected for school sports teams because the selecting team might be concerned about their fitness.

In conclusion, factors like poor diet and sedentary lifestyles because of advances in technology have led to an increase in overweight children, and this may cause serious physiological and psychological problems to children´s health