A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

According to psychologists, one of the most important desires of humans is to feel important. Traditionally, virtues like honesty and geniality defined a person’s social worth; however, nowadays these values are replaced by money. This essay largely agrees that old fashioned characteristics are still relevant in the twenty-first century despite some exceptions.

In impoverished nations, having a significant amount of money can elevate one’s social worth. This is because in such countries an affluent person has the means to influence political as well as administrative leaders and being able to manipulate these authorities increases their worth. For instance, in countries such as Paraguay or South Sudan rich people are often revered by public due to their wealth. As a consequence, places where poverty is major issue money can increase a person’s social status.

On the other hand, old fashioned values are still considered important. Anyone can earn a lavish amount of money by doing illegal acts such as burglary or drug smuggling but respect in society can only be earned by performing philanthropic work. For example, Bill Gates and Warren buffet are two of the richest men of the century, but they are highly admired and revered not for their wealth accumulation but for their charity work and are put forward than other billionaires. Therefore, traditional values impacts one’s social worth even today.

To conclude, although a person may have influence in the society due to its huge materialistic possessions, kindness, honesty and thoughtfulness towards others define a person’s real status.