Should the same laws which prohibit the sale & consumption of heroin be applied to tobacco? Discuss?

Tobacco products and heroin both come under the category of habit forming substances. Since a ban is already imposed on heroin, many people might argue that tobacco products should be banned too. However, prohibiting these nicotine substances such as cigarettes might not be a viable option as such drugs can come back in other forms.

The first question to consider is did the prohibition of heroin reduce the cases of drug abuse? Certainly, the answer is a definite no. The reason for this is even if one drug is banned, another drug emerges in the market which makes the entire ban futile. For instance, when the U.S prohibited crystal meth in 2000, other drugs such as cocaine and marijuana became available for drug users. Therefore, imposing a restriction on tobacco is not a viable solution.

On the other hand, encouraging people to adapt a healthy lifestyle would be more beneficial than the former approach. If seminars are conducted in order to make people conscious about the dire consequences of drug abuse, there is a strong possibility that people will acclimatize to healthy living. To illustrate, India celebrates Yoga Day and Heart day to motivate its citizens to stay in shape and refrain themselves from illegal drugs.

To conclude, banning tobacco will only give rise to a new type of drug, therefore, it is better to spread awareness about the drawbacks of such products. Once people realize what is best for their health, they are more likely to choose life rather than slow death.