It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

As children are amoral, it is a moral obligation of parents and teachers to guide them in the right direction. Sometimes in order to teach good things to the children, it is imperative some kind of penalisation should be done if they commit any bad deeds. However, in any case, corporal punishment must not be used to discipline minors. This essay largely disagrees with the penalizing of juveniles and will suggest some innovative penal system to teach children good behaviour without caning or beating them.

One of the most significant setbacks of physical punishment is its negative impact on young children’s psyche. This is because whenever a child is physically punished either from parents or teachers, they go through physical as well as physiological which, indeed, alter their personalities. As a consequence, their development might get hampered. For instance, in a survey carried out by New York Times revealed that 64% of adults who are facing issues in their personal and professional lives have been victims of physical punishment in their childhood. Therefore, giving pain to minors is not acceptable at any cost.

However, some meaningful measures can be taken to imbibe good characteristics in juveniles. At schools, pupils should be assigned to perform some community work as a part of their punishment. By opting such strategy, young students would not only learn some great lessons such as team work, cooperation and selflessness by also broaden their horizons by interacting with people from all walks of life. Additionally, parents can do productive counselling of their offspring rather than abusing them. Communication between parents and children can bring out the best for them since communication can ameliorate family bonding, and mothers and fathers can peep into the root cause of their children’s aberration.

To conclude, during childhood parents and mentor should try to carry forward good behavior to young ones using constructive methods discussed above, which will boost their holistic development without changing their personalities.