Plastic shopping bags are used widely and cause many environmental problems. Some people say they should be banned.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, it is acknowledged that plastic shopping bags are one of the most culprit causing the pollution of land and sea. It is thought that this kind of packaging should be banned. From my perspective, I am totally convinced by this statement.

To begin with, the most frequent factor contributing to this claim is that plastic bags pose a great threat to marine life in the contemporary world. One example to demonstrate my view is that according to the ocean pollution statistics, 1000,000 marine animals die from getting entangled in plastic yearly. As this example reveals, plastic shopping bags cause serious problems for the marine world.

In addition, one explanation to strengthen this claim is that producing plastic bags requires much energy to produce. To put it in another way, plastic bags are commonly used for short term. In fact, it is reported that the average time used of a plastic bag is nearly 12 minutes. Therefore, the more plastic bag will be thrown away. However, the cost to clean up the bags discharged is relatively costly. That means there will have less people making effort to deal with these stuffs. As a result, it is quite hard for plastic bags to degrade after being disposed of. In fact, these materials do not exist in nature, hence, there are no naturally occurring organisms that can break them down effectively or at all. In reality, it usually takes up to 10,000 years for plastic bags to decompose in landfills. As a consequence of this, it can result in the worrying land pollution.

Given the aforementioned points, it may be concluded that plastic shopping bags should be prohibited because of its negative impact on the environment. Consequently, I wholly agree with this view.