Advertising is influencing people more and more. Is this a positive or a negative trend? Give your opinion and examples.

In today’s world, it is apparent that more and more people are influenced by advertisement. In this essay, an attempt will be made to investigate this phenomenon.

To begin with, it cannot be denied that in this day and age, many people are persuaded to buy more items by advertising. This is shown by the following example. According to the survey of Rauch published in Washington Post, in some areas of Australia, prices actually went up as the amount of advertising on these products increased. That suggests that the advertisements were convincing people to buy more of these products than they otherwise would. As this example reveals, this may be the negative impact of advertisement on consumers.

On the other hand, advertisements bring benefits to our society. One explanation to support this view is that advertising creates jobs. One example to demonstrate this claim is that, according to the figures published in 2014, advertising provided almost 6 million jobs in the EU, which was equivalent to 2.6% of all EU employment. For that reason, it is obvious that advertisements have good sides in the contemporary world.

Given the aforementioned points, it may be concluded that advertisement has both the plus and the minus points. However, I am of the view that the influence of advertisement on people is a positive trend because it can provide jobs for citizens, which outweigh its drawback as mentioned above.