Some people think governments should spend money on faster means of public transport. However, others think money should be spent on other priorities (such as the environment). Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

One of the controversial questions is which areas of life should receive money from the government. Some people strongly agree with the opinion that money should be used to pay for communal vehicles. While others share the view that there are many issues which are much more important than transportation which should be paid for by the government. Both of the views have their own merits which require careful consideration.

On the one hand, some believe that the government should spend money on public transportation. One explanation to support this view is that the faster the public vehicles are, the more people choose to use them. That can reduce the level of exhaust fumes which are released into the atmosphere from vehicles. This is shown by the following example. A 2006 study by the Breakthrough Technologies Institute found that a bus rapid transit system in a medium-sized U.S city could reduce carbon dioxide emissions by more than 650,000 tons during a 20-year period. Therefore, it is obvious that public transportation is essential to invest in.

On the other hand, the opposers argue that it is much more important to spend on different problems, especially education. It is evident that if people do not have enough knowledge, they will be incapable of managing their lives. Hence, clearly, education is one of the most integral parts which mainly help people to expand their knowledge. However, according to the recent research published by Theirworld Organization, there are now 260 million children who are not able to go to primary or secondary school. Consequently, the government should invest more money in education to encourage children to attend school.

Take into account both these sets of arguments, there is abundant evidence to say that transportation is as important as different problems which need to be invested in by the government.