In some countries, children under 16 years old are not allowed to leave school by law and get full-time work. Is this a good or bad thing? Discuss your opinion.

In today’s world, there is a public debate about children's rights. In fact, in some countries, children who are under 16 years old are not allowed to leave their schools and earn money by getting a full-time job by law of the government. In this essay, an attempt will be made to investigate the advantages as well as disadvantages of this issue.

To begin with, the most frequent factor contributing to this phenomenon is that it may increase the financial burden to countries whose children there have a big contribution to the finance. In fact, the latest International Labour Organization global estimates on child labour indicate that African has the largest number of children labour force: 72,1 million African children are estimated to be in child labour, which accounts for nearly 17% of total workforce in Africa. As this example reveals, if children in this country get full-time study at school and do not work any longer, this country will have to face up with the economic downturn. Therefore, it is obvious that the law related to this issue can bring negative aspects to nations.

On the other hand, children under 16 years old are prohibited from leaving school to get full-time work. One explanation to support this statement is that this development might reduce the risks of being exposed to social crime such as prostitution, child trafficking, sexual abuse, thief, smuggling, drug addiction and so on. In reality, according to the statistics of UNICEF in 2005, there were 1.2 million children who are trafficked every year. Moreover, 2 million children, the major of them are girls, are sexually exploited in the multibillion-dollar commercial sex industry. Consequently, it is clear that the law which does not allow children to leave school until 16 could prevent them from this danger.

Given the aforementioned points, it may be concluded that the law required children under 16 years old not to leave their schools can bring both benefits and drawbacks. However, I am of the view that this is a good thing for our society because it can protect children from the risks.