People should be responsible for the pollution problems caused by transportations, while others think the government should be held accountable. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In today’s world, most governments have shown great concern about the pollution problems caused by transportation. When this issue comes into view, there exists conflicting opinions. Some people think that individuals should take responsibility for this. Meanwhile, others are of the opinion that this is the duty of government. Both of the views have their own merits which require careful consideration.

On the one hand, some people support the view that citizens should be in charge of pollution problems which come from transportation. The most frequent factor contributed to this point is that in this day and age private vehicles released a large amount of exhaust fumes. According to a case survey which was conducted in Tehran in 2012, the average for the contribution of CO2 emission from private cars and motorbikes was 26372 and 1648 tons per day respectively. Obviously, this consequence arises from the private transportation used by people. Therefore, people should take responsibility for this pollution.

On the other hand, some argue that the government should be held accountable. One explanation to support this view is that a large sum of money needed to improve this phenomenon is not able to be paid by citizens. Consequently, the government should take charge of solving problems related to this pollution. This is shown by the following example. In 2017, Canada government provided over $182 million in funding for electric transportation and finding alternative fuels to reduce the amount of CO2 released from private vehicles. It is clear that this amount of money is not able to be paid by people or companies which requires government investment.

Given the aforementioned points, it may be concluded that solving the pollution problems is the task of both government and citizens. From my perspective, governments and citizens should take action together to deal with this phenomenon.