Earlier technological developments brought more benefits and changed the lives of ordinary people more than recent technological developments.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today’s world, there is a public debate related to technology. It is thought that earlier technological developments bring more benefits to normal people than the recent ones. From my perspective, I remain unconvinced with this statement.

To begin with, the most frequent factor contributing to my view is that the earlier technology was very expensive. That means mass population could not afford it. To put it in another way, only a few percentages of rich people could across the technology in earlier ages. However, in this day and age, technological devices such as cell phone, computer, communication devices and so on have become much cheaper than it used to be. One example to demonstrate this view is that according to the figure of the USA Today, the most basic computer model of an HP 3000 sold for $95,000 in 19721, which was equivalent of slightly over half a million today’s dollars. Meanwhile, in the contemporary world, people can purchase a good laptop for about $300 on the lower end or $760 on the upper end. As this example reveals, it is manifest that present technologies supply more good sides in term of prices for customers than the earlier.

In addition, one explanation to support my point of view is that convenience is another positive aspect of modern technology. With the help of research and development centres, the bulky parts of the machine have been replaced by the lighter yet stronger materials. As a result, it is easier to carry them from one location to another. This is shown by the following example. The first handheld cellular phone call weighed more than 2kg. In the meantime, the weight of a Samsung phone is just nearly 0.2kg, which is much lighter than the old. As can be seen from this example, it is obvious that current technologies are better because of their usefulness.

Given the aforementioned points, it may be concluded that up-to-date technologies supply more advantages for customers than the older. Therefore, I totally disagree with the claim presented.