In countries where the unemployment rates are high, most pupils should be offered only primary education; there is no point in offering secondary education to those who will have no hope of finding jobs. Do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, most countries show a great concern about education. It is thought that in several countries where the rate of joblessness is high, most people should be offered only elementary education. There is no need to offer junior high education for people having no hope of getting a job. From my perspective, I remain unconvinced with this statement.

To begin with, the most frequent factor contributing to my view is that there are myriad benefits related to jobs which secondary education brings. While grammar schools equip people with primary knowledge of numeracy and literacy, secondary students are provided with basic lessons of diverse fields regarding science. As a result, exposure to those sources of knowledge enables learners to obtain insight into their abilities and limitations, allowing them to have basic job orientation. For instance, those who are proficient in languages are likely to become diplomats, translators, tour guides and so on, whereas those excelling in numerical calculation may develop to be accountants, bankers, investors and so forth. Therefore, it has been scientifically proven that secondary education plays an essential role in the social division of labour.

In addition, one explanation to support my point of view is that in the contemporary world, the labour force is required to have substantial knowledge about advanced technology. According to the US Bureau of Labour Statistics found in 2012, more than half of the jobs required some kind of technology skills. Moreover, by 2020, that number reaches 77 per cent. In fact, prime understanding in academic subjects attained from junior high school serves as the concrete foundation for higher education, where they drill deeper into the world of science. Therefore, if people do not absorb the knowledge of secondary education, they will not be able to master any state-of-the-art technologies in today’s society. That will lead to a greater risk of being jobless encountered afterwards.

Given the aforementioned points, it may be concluded that people with no hope of finding a job should be offered secondary education because of the good sides which elementary education brings. Hence, I wholly disagree with the claim.