Many children participate in social networks on the Internet instead of participating in community activities in their neighbourhood. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this situation?

It is widely acknowledged that nowadays, children, together with their friends, join in various social activities on the Internet rather than taking part in community activities. In this essay, an attempt will be made to discuss the benefits and drawbacks of this.

To begin with, there are many obvious advantages which can’t be left out. This is because children can expand their knowledge about technical skills like texting, sending emails, working with Word or Excel and so on, which is very essential when working in 4.0 situations. That is really beneficial to them when applying in the future. Therefore, they will stand a better chance of finding employment. For example, after being interviewed by Yale psychologists, over 70% of young office workers admitted that they had spent more time in participating in social networking instead of community activities. For this reason, it is clear that social networking brings children a lot of benefits.

However, on the other hand, there are also severe disadvantages of this phenomenon. It is obvious that nowadays children prefer joining in the Internet activities instead of outdoor activities. That causes an unprecedented increase in the number of youngsters having physical health problems such as headaches, obesity, myopia and so on. The main reason for this problem is that children spend too much time exposed to electronic devices like laptops, Ipads, smartphones and so on. According to statistics published recently in Vietnam, nearly 87% of teenagers are becoming nearsighted due to sitting in front of a computer screen for long hours. Therefore, social networks almost certainly have a negative impact on young children.

In conclusion, this phenomenon could bring about certain benefits, but its negative consequences should not be overlooked.