Many employers are employing people with good social skills as well as good qualifications. Do you agree or disagree that good social skills is as important as good qualifications to succeed in job?

In today’s world, many employers are employing people with good social skills as well as good qualifications is widespread. From my perspective, I totally agree with the statement that when employing people, good social skills are as essential as good qualifications to succeed in jobs.

To begin with, the most frequent factor contributing to this view is that good qualifications cannot ensure success in the real world of work in this day and age. To put it in another way, nowadays there are many students with high-level degree are not able to get a job. In reality, according to the Ministry of Labor, Invalids and Social Affairs, in 2017, the number of unemployed people with a bachelor’s degree stood at more than 200,000. As this example reveals, it is obvious that good qualifications are not adequate to help people to get jobs after their graduation.

In addition, one example to support this claim is that in the contemporary world, there are many jobs that require good social skills such as: market research, consult, human resources etc. In fact, this type of works requires people to work with diverse groups of people ranging from outside vendors to corporate executives. Therefore, it is clear that people who work in these fields have to acquire good social skills to operate their works.

Given the aforementioned points, it may be concluded that good social skills are indispensable for people to achieve success in their works. Consequently, the importance of good social skills is equivalent to good qualifications when applying for a job.