Some people think healthcare should be free for everyone. Others think that people should pay for their medical costs themselves. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Most governments are showing great concern about healthcare services' costs. When this issue comes into view, there exist many conflicting opinions. Some people share the belief that citizens should pay for healthcare fees by themselves. Meanwhile, others are of the view that medical services should be free for everyone. Both views have their own merits which require careful consideration.

To begin with, it is undeniable that the cost of healthcare services is fairly high. Therefore, the service of health treatment is unaffordable for the poor. This is demonstrated by the following statistics. According to the 2017 Global Monitoring Report published in Lancet Global Health, 800 million people spend at least 10 per cent of their household budgets on health expenses for themselves or other family members. In addition, for almost 100 million people these expenses are high enough to push them into extreme poverty. For that reason, if health treatment is free, many poor people will have a chance to improve their health as well as their quality of life.

On the other hand, those who are in favour of paying for healthcare individually have reasons that can not be ignored. In this day and age, it is a well-established fact that with the development of technology, people tend to set higher requirements for their medical treatment. To be more specific, they demand advanced facilities and newer procedures in order to have better care. Nevertheless, the expense of upgrading new facilities and drugs is really expensive. For that reason, if people do not pay for all the updating, the government need to pay for all the updating, which will push the government to the edge of running out of the national budget. Hence, it is infeasible for government to provide free medical treatment for their citizens.

Taking into consideration both these sets of arguments, free healthcare service has both benefits and drawbacks. However, from my perspective, people should personally pay for their medical services due to the burden financial of the government.