Some educationalists say that every child should be taught how to play a musical instrument. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, there is a public debate about the study of children. It is believed that every child should be taught to play a musical instrument by several educationalists. From my perspective, I am utterly convinced that children should be educated to play a musical instrument.

To begin with, the most frequent factor contributing to this statement is that learning an instrument can bring many good aspects to the development of the brain. One example to demonstrate this statement is that neuroscientists at USC recently carried out a study examining the impact of music instruction on children’s social, emotional and cognitive development. The study results show that music instrument-learning speeds up the growth of the auditory pathway in the brain and increases its efficiency. As the example reveals, an instrument accelerates brain development.

In addition, one explanation to support this view is that playing instruments could lead to many good sides when they mature. To put it in another way, learning how to play an instrument as a child could result in the better listening skill when becoming an adult. This is shown by the following example. According to the study published in the Journal of Neuroscience, researchers found that just one to five years of experience playing music as a child was associated with an improved cognitive ability in processing complex sounds as a young adult. Therefore, learning to play a musical instrument could bring merits in the future of children.

Given the aforementioned points, it may be concluded that children should be taught how to play a musical instrument because of the benefits it brings to their lives. Consequently, I totally agree with this statement.