Playing a musical instrument is one of the most important achievement for any child. To what extent do you agree with this statement ?

The role of music in children's life continues to be controversial topic among society, with some people claiming that the achievement in playing an instrument is one of the most substantial thing for youngsters. Personally, I support this perspective because such musical ability provide several advantages which i will outline in this essay.

First and foremost, it appears that playing an instrument would develop physical skills of children. When children plays an instrument, their brain works at advanced speed in order to convert the musical note becoming physical motion. For that reason, those who play instruments have improved hand-eye coordination over those who do not. Secondly, I feel that this activity also contributes to children's performance in academic subject. By understanding beat and rhythm, children learn how to divide, create and recognize pattern which are related to problem-solving skills in mathematics. Lastly, it seems that this capability offer an opportunity for young people to be exposed to diverse culture, by which potentially fostered open-mindedness about worlds. For instance, bongos and tumbles may introduce them to african and cuban culture.

I do understand that some people would think differently and saying that learning how to play an instrument wastes too much time which could be better spent on academic purposes​. However, I personally consider this as unwise argument, especially considering the benefits that youngsters may gain through this activity as i explain before.

Overall, it is logical to conclude that playing a musical instrument leads to more positive effects ranging from physical coordination, enhancement on mathematic subject, to cultural insight. Thus, i believe that this ability should be consider as one of the most important achievement for young people.