Poor nutrition and obesity is a problem in many developed countries and some people believe that a tax on fast food would reduce the problem. Do you agree?

Social health is increasingly deteriorating throughout the world, especially in modern countries. Today, the problem is getting worse because of people's busy lifestyles which force them to eat junk food. Some believe that putting a tax on fast food can reduce the problem. But It disagrees that increasing the price would change the situation, as it raises people's willingness to buy a product. Also, it leads to a drop in the quality of selected foods by people. These reasons will be discussed in this order.

Firstly, most of the time there is an inverse relationship between the price of a product and demand for it. Take any commodity as an example, higher prices even can contribute to more deriving demands, as it illustrates more product value. Thus, using this method to reduce the use of convenience foods and encouraging people to eat more organic and healthy ones is refuted.

On the other hand, it is obvious that in a modern society people give preference to foods which are readily available. In this situation, it is clear that increasing the price has an inverse impact on public health, as people might not consume quality food. For instance, replacing brown sugar with white one in a confectionary item reduces its price and quality. Therefore, it is obvious that this strategy would generate severe subsequent consequences. Thus, a tax that increases the overall price of fast food is not a rational strategy to control the amount of use.

Following the analyzation of price inability to control demands and encouraging the use of less quality food, it is clear that increasing tax would not contribute to public health. Further, it is expected that policymakers consider more sustainable strategies to overcome this major problem all over the world.