At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people.

Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

In the contemporary world, the number of younger generation is increasing rapidly compared to the senior ones, in some countries. This situation generates both positive and negative aspects in the long run.

The obvious argument in favor is that, young adults are the viable sources of improvement for the country in terms of science and technology. Having been fresh minded, they produce ideas those are fruitful and creative in these fields. Moreover, youthful people are effective and efficient employees for employers since they have great responsibility and flexibility towards their job. For instance, in some of western countries only qualified youthful workers are applied for job areas as the work hours are so long which may be inappropriate for senior employees because of their physical endurance.

There are, however, some drawbacks. Decreasing number of older generation has serious impacts on culture and tradition. Dying out of cultures leads to the similarity among countries and people soon start to think similarly leaving their old customs and traditions behind. Furthermore, old generations are the means of information and good role models for the youth. They play a vital role in decision making process as they have great experience and skills those are achieved throughout their life. Nevertheless, cultures and information about history can be obtained from them plainly by young generation.

To conclude, senior citizens should not be considered as a burden for the country, however, young generation has more opportunities to contribute to the country. Hence, it is more advantageous for a country to have an active workforce than dependant seniors.