Prison is the common way in most countries to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people with a better education. Agree or disagree?

While some nations consider custodial sentence as an effective intervention to reduce the number of criminals, others think that it is better if we solve the problem on the base of education. Although I partly agree that advantages of prison are undeniable, I believe that we should implement other solutions.

On the one hand, prison sentence clearly has some benefits. First, many countries impose the full weight of the law by serving a prison sentence, which acts as a deterrence. It is clear that governments should be tough on some severe crimes to prevent people from commiting illegal activities like killing or drug trafficking. Secondly, prison plays an integral part in protecting other law-abiding citizens from threats of dangerous offenders. Mass murderer is a typical example, they consider murdering as a way to seek out a sense of accomplishment and even just get a whale of time, and therefore, authorities should keep them in prison for the shake of other people’s safety.

On the other hand, we should carry out non-custodial approaches apart from prison to tackle crimes thoroughly. Firstly, parental involvement has an enormous impact on shaping children’s personalities, so we should raise children’s awareness about public obligations and laws through their parents. For example, governments should allocate more resources on providing parents with psychological courses so that they have many appropriate ways to educate their own offsprings. Secondly, unemployment is a popular reason which pushes many people into resorting to crimes, thus governments should organize more vocational courses aiming to reduce the number of unemployed residents. Consequently, when people have career prospects, they can make ends meet by themselves, instead of turning into crimes such as thieves.

To sum up, I partially agree that prison sentence is still necessary, nevertheless, governments also should solve other issues through better education to ensure their citizens have better lives and drop the rate of crimes.