Q10 : A growing number of people feel that animals should not be exploited by people and that they should have the same rights as humans, while others argue that humans must employ animals to satisfy their various needs, including uses for food and research. What do you think?

Recently, the issue of animal use has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that animals should be used to meet our needs, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of benefits that can be derived from the use of animals. Perhaps the principal advantage is that livestock can provide essential nutrients such as protein, allowing us to lead healthy lives. Another benefit is that cures for various illnesses have been developed by conducting testing on animals, which exerts a positive influence on the quality of life of mankind. To exemplify, research conducted by Seoul National University has demonstrated that scientists have been able to develop treatment for heart disease by conducting experiments on pigs. For these reasons, there does seem to be a solid basis for the claim that animal use is necessary.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that animal use can be justified. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that animal experimentation often infringes animal rights considering that it inflicts suffering on animals. To be more specific, animal testing often takes a toll on animals' physical health as well as mental health since the majority of experiments are performed in cruel ways. Furthermore, there is a possibility of catastrophic dangers, which humans can face, arising from animal experiments. This means that a multitude of genetic features of animals are different from those of people. Thus, some results of animal experimentation can not guarantee that these fully apply to humans. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

​In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.