Q17 : In some countries, the difference in age between parents and children is generally greater than it was in the past. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, the issue of the age gap between parents and children has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that although there are some advantages to giving birth to children at an early age, these are outweighed by the disadvantages, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that having children as early in life as possible exerts a positive influence on families do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that younger parents are more likely to participate in leisure activities with their children, such as playing online games and football, making it possible for them to build strong relationships with one another. In addition, young people who raise their offspring can communicate with their children with greater ease considering that they are more open-minded than older parents who are more strict due to the larger generation gap.

My opinion, however, is that it seems short-sighted to contend that taking responsibility for becoming parents at a young age merely brings with it positives. Perhaps the principal disadvantage is that a multitude of younger parents often have financial difficulty and struggle to support living costs sine they have not been working for long. Thus, they have not saved vast sums of money, unlike elderly parents, preventing them from providing invaluable opportunities to receive better education for their offspring. Furthermore, the development of youngsters' behaviour is negatively affected by young people looking after their children as younger parents who are generally less mature because of a lack of life experience may be incapable of setting a good example to their children, which can even lead children to become immature and selfish. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that the drawbacks of a narrow age gap surpass the benefits for the reasons discussed above.