Q19: Developing countries require help offered by international organizations to ensure healthy and sustainable development. Some people think that financial aid is important. Others believe that practical aid and advice is more important. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the question of how to support emerging countries has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that practical advice and assistance for less-developed nations should take precedence over financial help, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that financial support can benefit third world countries a great deal do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that an astronomical amount of money is required to build a high quality of infrastructure, including railways and roads, which makes it possible for poorer countries to invigorate economic growth. In fact, these nations are not able to establish facilities without receiving monetary assistance from global charities. In addition, a multitude of citizens in Africa are suffering from global hunger as well as a lack of basic necessities, such as primary education and balanced meals. If it were not for monetary help from global charitable foundations, they would have difficulty leading a better life.

My opinion, however, is that more emphasis should be placed on practical aid and technical advice than monetary support. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that although it seems beneficial for developed countries to give financial aid in the short term, first world countries that have a myriad of invaluable skills and experiences derived from trial and error should teach these to developing countries considering that receiving practical skills enables them not only to achieve economic and political progress but also to become less dependent on other countries in the long term. Furthermore, a large number of developing nations often suffer from high levels of corruption preventing the masses from having an improved standard of living. Thus, if they obtain numerous pieces of advice from experts in global institutions, this phenomenon would be alleviated. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that practical support and advice should be a priority for the reasons discussed above.