Q3 Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree with this statement.

Recently, the question of whether living overseas is beneficial has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that residing in a country where a foreign language is spoken can result in practical and social issues, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that residing abroad and speaking in a second language can cause problems for individuals. Perhaps the most pressing problem is that being forced to communicate in a language other than one's mother tongue can make it difficult for people to deal with their small daily tasks, such as doctor's appointments, which often lead them to experience high levels of stress. In addition, the language barriers can prevent speakers of different languages from connecting with each other, giving rise to misunderstanding and even cultural conflicts.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that dwelling overseas merely brings with it negatives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that not only can those who have lived in a foreign country become proficient in other languages, but they also have a predisposition to have a deeper understanding of foreign cultures, exerting a positive influence on their future career. To exemplify, research conducted by Seoul National University has demonstrated that individual people who have resided overseas often find well-paying employment opportunities with greater ease, compared to other job seekers. This is because bilingual employees play a vital role in the field of global trade given that they have invaluable communication skills. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.