Q3 Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, the issue of studying a foreign language has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that working and travelling abroad are not the sole reasons for learning a second language, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that people acquire a foreign language so as to take overseas trips and job postings do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that being fluent in a foreign language makes it possible for individuals to facilitate various aspects of trips from buying groceries to organising cultural activities. In addition, multilingual individuals are more likely to find well-paying and prestigious employment opportunities in a job market with greater ease given that the majority of large corporations have a predisposition to hire job seekers who are proficient in a foreign language. This is mainly because in the era of globalisation, international companies often dispatch their employees to a foreign nation where they have branches.

My opinion, however, is that it seems short-sighted to contend that working and travelling overseas are the only motivations for acquiring a foreign language. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that having a tight grasp of a language other than one's mother tongue enables people to reap beneficial information. As a brief illustration, scientists are capable of gaining a huge amount of knowledge related to the field where they conduct research by consulting books or articles written in a common language, such as English. Furthermore, people can easily mingle with speakers of different languages as the language barrier does not prevent them from connecting with one another. This can lead them not only to have a deeper understanding of cultural diversity but also to become more open-minded. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that there are other reasons why people are willing to learn other languages for the reasons discussed above.