Question An increasing number of people are buying what they need online What are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shopping online

These days, online shopping is becoming increasingly popular all around the world. This trend offers a number of merits to both customers and sellers, while it has some drawbacks for both parties as this essay will demonstrate.

When it comes to buyers, the primary reason why they prefer to shop online as opposed to shopping is that it saves their time and energy. In other words, most of the people are not able to shop for their needs on account of hectic work schedules, which propels them to shop online for their needs and gives them a chance to save some of their valuable time and energy, which can therefore be utilized for something else. In addition to that, this is the best option for individuals who are not shopaholic and have no motivation to walk from one shop to the other as this facilitates to what they need to their doorstep by clicking a button on a website. Purchasing something online however does not ensure that customer receives a good as quality as what they witness on a screen, which leads ultimately to dissatisfaction of the customer. Not only that, buying online offers less choices, whereas super markets and other shops give people an opportunity to choose a product among number of brands. At the same time, they can experience bargaining power at some shops what online shopping lacks at all.

For sellers, this is a better chance to save money needs to maintain the business. For instance, were fewer people to come to a textile shop for clothing, fewer employees need to be employed, thereby other workers can be laid off, and hence they can save money. The savings can be invested to increase the quality and variety of products, whereby more buyers can be attracted to the shop. However, customers easily forget what they see on the internet, whereas purchasing something they like from a shop remains in their mind for a longer time. This human behavior therefore a primary drawback for growing businesses as it is more difficult to build a persistent image in their customer’s mind.

In conclusion, distance shopping does save time and money although it offers less choices leading sometimes customer disappointment and reduce the possibility of a business to grow efficiently.