The range of technology available to people is increasing the gap between the rich and the poor. Others think it has an opposite effect. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

There is an undeniable fact that over a quarter of our population are behind the great technological wave. A group of people have blamed technology to be the core factor that led to the ever-widening social class distinctions while the others, on the contrary, believe that the achievements developed based on technology could bring humans together. There are both pros and cons of these viewpoints that I will discuss in this essay.

As the individuals who are not able to adapt the changes will be left behind on the path of evolution, the lower-income earners will be the first targets to be lagged behind in the world dominated by the technological wave. On the economic front, the maximum-income figure estimated about one dollar per day is the biggest obstacle that restricts the poor to join the technological world since it takes them years to save enough money to buy a computer or a smartphone for their own. Besides, those who inhabit in remote areas or in less-developed countries are hardly have the opportunity to approach to technological innovations, or even worse, they virtually have no concept of the internet. Furthermore, humans are using technological devices, specifically smartphone, as a measure of our true values. For example, those who possess low-cost smartphones could feel less attractive than the others, or even could self-underestimate their core values just because they have yet afforded a famous brand-name phone. These realities are obviously the constraints of the technological applications available to us.

Conversely, technology has a great potential power to connect the world. It was a long path from Morse code to the internet for humans to speak the same language: the binary language. Driven by the power of the internet built on binary-based, we are brought together than ever before. For instance, people could easily capture the situation of an earthquake that occurred halfway around the earth only by surfing the internet. Furthermore, the sponsors could easily donate to these victims through internet banking account just by a click, even if they are cooking at home. Another power of technology is to raise the empathy among people. For example, driven by the power of media, a person could raise fund for a group of inhabitants who lived in the most remote area on earth by his presence on televised broadcast.

In conclusion, there are numerous reasons to share the concern that the gap among social classes would be widened by the rise of technological devices. I do, however, believe in a bright prospect that the more the technology could develop, the more human could empathize with each other.