Recent research suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison commit crimes after they are released.

Why is this the case?

What can be done to solve this problem?

According to a recent research, it is suggested that most criminals who are released from prisons keep committing crimes. This issue can be defended on a number of grounds and should be tackled to reduce crime rates.

The problem of renewed disobedience is attributed to a number of factors relating to the efficiency of prison sentence and the true situation of criminals. The first reason accounts for this problem is the insufficient length of the sentence. There are some criminals who are underaged or have a special condition that are considered to spend shorter amount of time in jail, needless to say, there is not enough time for them to reflect on their guilts and plan for a better future, and instead of spend time feeling guilty in jail, they try to get out as soon as possible. Therefore, they see being sent to prison as a joke and keep committing crime again and again. Another explanation for the increase in the number of repeated criminals is unemployment. Some people was taken to jail at a young age so that they cannot finish their study and get a qualification to get a job, some are poor and unemployed because of bad impression that they were criminals. These people are so narrow-minded that they chose to commit crimes to make end meets. As a result, there is a tendency that released criminals will be sent to jail again.

Because of its threat to the safety of the society, this problem should be addressed by every individuals and the government. For individual, criminals should spend time in jail reflecting on their bad behavior and the consequence, consider if that worth their lives. People around the past criminals should not discriminate them, instead, they should give people released from prisons a chance to be prove their ability and change their attitude. Governments play a pivotal role in this process as well. They should provide vocational courses and civic education to the criminals in prisons so that not only they get a qualification but they are educated to change their way of thoughts as well. For some repeated criminals, the judger should consider the highest possible sentence.

In conclusion, the increase in renewed disobedience of some released criminals are attributed to the inappropriate sentence length, the lack of qualifications as well as people’s reaction to past criminals. Therefore, individuals and government should try their best in tackling this problem to reduce crime rates and ensure the safety of the society.