In recent years more and more people are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books.

Do the advantages outweight the disadvantages?

Over the last centuries technological development has spread to almost all the areas of life, from science to entertainment. Nowadays the number of individuals preferred e-books instead of paper versions is constantly growing. This essay will examine the main benefits and drawbacks of this trend and provide logical argumentation of the merits` prevalence.

On the one hand, the probable disadvantages of electronic versions increasing popularity are less comprehensive understanding of literature work as well as the limited ability to share the book with others. Not only is the meaning of the novel important, but also the décor, cover and font are considerable. For instance, overwhelming majority of children books are designed with paintings and unusual font, however, only paper versions can give the readers an opportunity to enjoy all of these elements. Furthermore, paper books can be easily presented or given to friends or mates for a while, while e-books can be read only by the person who bought them. Thus, the drawbacks of electronic literature are believed to be difficulties with sharing the books along with less complete perception of the novel.

On the other hand, the principal advantages of this tendency are ecological benefits and a possibility to read more. If people choose e-books, less trees, which are needed for paper production, will be cut. For instance, according to the survey conducted by the Siberian Ecological Society, the level of deforestation has been declined over the last decades due to the usage of the electronic documents. Moreover, digital versions of novels and poetries can be read on smartphones, e-books and laptops. Therefore, humans can read more due to the lack of necessity to take paper books, which are sometimes rather heavy, and use their phones for reading. Hence, the main benefits of digital literature are less harmful effects on environment as well as the convenience to read.

I am convinced that the advantages of e-books dominate over disadvantages due to the significant contribution of ecological influence into the lives of people all over the world. Basically, deforestation may lead to the deterioration of the air quality, and, consequently, to the lungs diseases. It cannot be denied, that health problems prevail over the desire to enjoy paper books.

To conclude, I strongly believe the main merits of digital literature, which are considered to be environment preservation and convenient reading, outweight the demerits, such as comprehensive perception and a chance to give a book to others.