Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in our life. Which do you consider to be the major influence?

Human psychology and mental development is heavily influenced by the genetic sciences. With advancement in medical sciences the importance of inherited characteristics are understood better than ever before. Yet still it is difficult to decide whether an individual’s personality and development are more influenced by genetic factors (nature) or by the environment (nurture). This essay discusses the impact of both factors on human development.

Firstly, development is lifelong process, so environment plays significant role in shaping one’s personality. Undoubtedly, research, relating to identical twins, has highlighted how significant inherited characteristics can be for an individual's life. But whether these characteristics are able to develop within the personality of an individual surely depends on whether the circumstances allow such a development. It seems that the experiences, person have in life are so unpredictable and so powerful, that they can boost or over-ride other influences, and there seems to be plenty of research findings to confirm this.

Furthermore, it won’t be wrong to say, there is no one single factor which has major influence in a person's life. Instead, the traits an individual inherits from his parents and the situation and experiences that we encounter in life are constantly interacting. It is the interaction of the two that shapes a person's personality and dictates how that personality develops. If this were not true, we would be able to predict the behaviour and character of a person from the moment they were born.

In conclusion, neither nature nor nurture alone has the major influence on a person, but that both have powerful effects. How these factors interact is still unknown today and they remain largely unpredictable in a person’s life.