Research into new types of medicine and treatments are essential for improving health and dealing with diseases.

Who do you think should fund this research: private companies, individuals or governments?

Investments in medical research play an important role in healthcare. To answer the question of who should take the responsibility to raise funds for the operations of the studies, I lean towards the idea of the integration of the government and private corporations.

There is a regulation that emphasizes on the mission of the government to guarantee public health of their people. That to be said, the government themselves should be one pioneer to combat trying circumstances, such as the Covid-19 pandemic, for the sake of the residents. Therefore, as leaders of a country, the authorities are supposed to budget for medical studies. However, governmental funding towards medicine are usually seen insufficient, since the officials are also responsible for allocations of other aspects. It would expectedly be a deficit as long as there is only the government to count on when it comes to funding.

On the other hand, private companies should not take full charge of sponsoring medical research. This is attributed to the fact that communal health would hardly be the ultimate target of pharmaceuticals, instead, their works usually revolve around profit-driven strategies. Consequently, launched products may involve severe side effects or take no effects at all, serving few purposes of curing ailments and saving lives. The upside of independent companies may lie in their higher investment that the government. Apparently, most private firms are merely in it for the money, they would ensure that their money is in good hands by the time the project is started.

In conclusion, considering benefits and drawbacks of both the government and private companies regarding fund raising and their final goal, I would opine that research into medicine should be taken under the coordination of the two.