As a result of advances in medical care, average life expectancy is increasing for men and women. Do you think most people will see this as a positive development? What are the disadvantages of an ageing population for individuals and society? Support you

The advancement in medical care has brought much benefits for men and women in term of improving the quality of their lives and increase the average life expectancy. Although most of the changes could be considered as positive development, some issues still remain within the ageing population which I will explain in the following essay.

Nowaday, people live healthier and happier life as a result of advances in medical care. The average age of people is gradually increase in the course of fifty years together with the quality of life. For example, my granfather died in the age of sixty due to severe infectious disease. This type of illness could be prevented these day thank to the improvement in hygiene and better health care. Preventative dianosis with personalized medicine also play a role in breaking the age barrier and help people live their lives in the most convienient way.

But all the advancement in medical care as well as tecnological breakthrough also bring up issues that needed to be deal with. One of the disadvantages could be new disease in ageing population such as neurodegenerative diease or cognitive decline. Alzheimer's and Parkinson's diease is the two common illness that affect most of senior citizens in the age over sixties. These diseases targeted neurons in the brain and broke the connection between them, leading to the loss of motor function, neuronal damages and cognitive decrement. Therefore, even though people living a longer life, they are also suffering from the disability caused by the disease.

Overall, the advances in mediacal care has brought much of possitive development, issues still remain in the ageing population such as the introduction of new diesase that affect their well-being.