TPO-10 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

We are living in the energetic world with the lighting-fast paced of technological advancement allowing people to enjoy their lives in many different ways. Computer game is one of those ways and frankly speaking, it brings a lot of joy to those who know how to enjoy. But children, on the contrary way, do not know how to control themselves and could be addicted to playing a video game. I am the opinion that children should not be allowed to play a video game, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, children are not in complete control with their behavior due to their immaturity mentally and physically, and they could be sway by a lot of factors, especially the very entertainment video game. We all know that video games are made for the purpose of entertaining people, who willing to pay money for their pleasure. Therefore, video games contain plots and twists they lure a player to spend their time playing it. As an adult, we could spend hours to play a video game and still manage to get back to work because we know and understand the responsibility. Children, on the other hand, can not handle themselves as an adult. They are just simply want to play and have fun. They unconsciously enjoy the fun of playing video without regard to the harmful effects.

Secondly, children are prone to video game addiction, which mean that they could turn all of their energy into playing a video game and abandon others important tasks in their life. As mentioned above, due to their immature mind children can not distinguish which tasks is more important in their life. As a result, children choose the thing that easy to do and make them happy. Later on down that road, they develop video game-dependent or addiction to a video game. For example, my nephew is a good example for this. At the age of ten, he received a computer as a gift for his birthday. At first, his parents want him to use a computer as a way to learn new things as well as getting familiar with the internet. A few months later, they found out that instead of studying, my nephew spends hours and hours playing an online first-person-shooter game. Things even get serious when we tried to take his computer away, he started yelling and throwing stuff to gain its back.

In conclusion, children should not be allowed to play a video game, because of their naive mind could not handle the enticement of a video game, and because children could be easily addicted to a video game.