As a result of advances in medical care, average life expectancy is increasing for men and women. Do you think most people will see this as a positive development? What are the disadvantages of an ageing population for individuals and society? Support you

The advancement in medical care has brought many benefits for men and women in term of improving the quality of their lives and increase the average life expectancy. Although most of the changes could be considered as a positive development, some issues still remain within the aging population which I will explain in the following essay.

Nowadays, people live healthier and happier life as a result of advances in medical care. The average age of people is gradually increased in the course of fifty years together with the quality of life. For example, my grandfather died at the age of sixty due to severe infectious disease. This type of illness could be prevented this day thank to the improvement in hygiene and better health care. Preventative diagnosis with personalized medicine also plays a role in breaking the age barrier and help people live their lives in the most convenient way.

But all the advancement in medical care, as well as technological breakthrough, also bring up issues that needed to be dealt with. One of the disadvantages could be a new disease in the ageing population such as neurodegenerative disease or cognitive decline. Alzheimer's and Parkinson's disease is the two common illness that affects most of senior citizens in the age over sixties. These diseases targeted neurons in the brain and broke the connection between them, leading to the loss of motor function, neuronal damages, and cognitive decrement. Therefore, even though people living a longer life, they are also suffering from the disability caused by the disease.

Overall, the advances in medical care have brought much of positive development, issues still remain in the aging population such as the introduction of new disease that affect their well-being.