TPO-09 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Technology has made children less creative than they were in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The development of technology plays an important role in improving people life. Many applications derived from the advent of technology have made people life more easier and comfortable. But there is still critic about the other side of technology, one claim for making children this day less creative. I am the opinion against that statement and believe that technology allows children to be more creative than they were in the past, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, technology has brought people a way to experiencing life on the new level, by providing them the ease of accessing information. This aspect of technology is even more profound in children, allowing them to learn creatively beyond imagination. The experience of my nephew learning coding in the age of ten is a good example for this. This Christmas, instead of buying him a regular toy-like robot figure or pile of the cartoon, I decided to give him a computer. At first, I thought he just use the computer to play a game or listen to music, may be studying some of the subject through an online course at best. Latter on, I found out that he registered himself on the programing course for beginner and actually doing some coding by himself. The program that he coded is a small interactive game for children with an interface very much like Mario. I was amazed by his coding skill at the time and give him some instructions how to develop his game better. Without the ease of access to information, back in the past, I would never able to do such things like my nephew could be able to do this day.

Secondly, technology also help people to share their knowledge and spread out their ideas to many others. The internet is one of the ways to do so, by voice call or skype, people do not have to meet directly and yet still transmit their ideas loud and clear. The aforementioned story of my nephew building a game by himself can be used to demonstrate this. Not only stop at coding the program by himself, he also sends his game to friends of his age and asks them to give it a try. Some others kid even give him comments about some bugs that they encounter while playing the game. Some even got interested and want to learn to code too. They could spend time after school, socializing via facebook or skyping to discuss about new features for the game. They end up with bringing their game to the science show in their school and won a small prize. By the advent of the internet, children nowadays are allowed to spread their ideas even at young age.

In conclusion, I am the belief that technology help to promote creativeness in children, by providing an ease of access to information and spread their ideas to their peer.