Rich countries often give money to poorer countries, but it does not solve poverty. Therefore, developed countries should give other types of help to poor countries rather than financial aid.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, base on the altruism and ethical properties, several opulent nations are providing the poorer ones financial assistance. However, it’s believed that financial aid can not solve the issue from the root. Instead of that, I suppose such practical assistances are more preferred in order to help those destitute countries get rid of poverty.

As a matter of fact, we can deny that financial support from the opulent nations provides several benefits to the destitute countries, especially for the resolution of concerning internal issues. Firstly, with the external monetary injections, the governments can handle the consequences of natural or artificial disasters or carry out plenty of purposes, for instance, the improvement of social welfare or infrastructural development. Secondly, financial assistance might help avoid stagnation and foster economic progress. However, that is just a temporary and not a radical solution since the dependence of these countries on that source of money. It’s interpreted as if there is no subsidization from the wealthy, those developing countries can’t solve their own issues.

With regard to sustainable development, the wealthy should provide them some kinds of practical aids instead. Sustainable growth of one country is not merely about finance but also depends on a variety of factors, especially development policies, and education. As experienced countries, they can give the hand to the developing countries through the consultancy about the development orientation and the key economic sectors which they should concentrate on or supply them suitable investigations. Moreover, education plays a vital role in the further development of every country. The prosperous nations can establish some schools or institutes with professional and systematic education and training programs in several fields such as science, technology or medicine and so on to encourage their development. Besides, some exchange programs that send experts and receive the gifted students from the developed countries create great opportunities for those students to approach the achievements of the developed and apply what they have learned to build-up their countries.

In conclusion, financial aid is undeniably beneficial for poorer countries. However, in order to get rid of poverty and develop sustainably, they need more than that, such as some particularly practical assistance from the developed nations.