Rich countries often give money to poorer countries, but it does not solve poverty. Therefore, developed countries should give other types of help to the poor countries rather than financial aid.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been asserted that the provision of financial aid by the developed nations to the poorer states does not necessarily deteriorate the level of poverty in the region. So, there are individuals who argue that the donor countries should probably consider providing alternative aids to the poor. I partially advocate the agreement part of the statement based on the following reasons.

Firstly, there are other types of aid available apart from financial aid such as humanitarian aids that focus on the general welfare of states, and development mechanisms which are simply to enhance the ability of human capital of the country. The supports may come in the form of educational programs in rural areas, conservation of natural resources, and providing assistance to local farmers. Rather than the cash as the aid, volunteering programs that include people from developed nations, specializing in various sectors would be more beneficial to the local citizens. The outcome may not be short-termed and tangible such as building bridges and industrial infrastructure.

Nonetheless, the aforementioned approach can bring intangible yet long-termed advantages to the local community. To cite an example, educating the people in Africa about the importance of water sanitary through the practical experiments by the NGOs surely did change those people to pay attention to the cleanness of water such as using boiled water and so on, which subsequently lessens the occurrence of abdominal diseases in Africa for the long run.

Secondly, providing financial aid runs the risk of exploitation by who receives the donation. In poor countries with entrenched corruption in governance and overgrowing cronies, the aid simply does not reach even the middle class of those countries, feeding them with a glimpse of a large sum of money. Without a doubt, this fuels the widening gap between the rich and poor in the country and even contributes to the happening of the social uprising in the worst scenario. For instance, the Myit Sone Dam project in Myanmar encountered an upsurging negative reaction of Myanmar people as it was found to be based on the benefits of corrupted political elites.

However, people must be aware of the fact that money is still imperative in helping the poorer countries. This is because the struggles of developing nations are greatly inward and the causes are often intertwined. Thus, sometimes it is a wiser choice for the rich countries to simply donate the cash and focus more on cooperation with government and local mass people.

To sum up, it is totally agreeable that other types of support apart from money should be provided by the developed nations to the poorer states based on the reasons stated above while assuming the financial aid as a reliable choice at the same time.