The rise of convenience foods has helped people keep up with the speed of the modern lifestyle.what are the advantages of this trend? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

People, nowadays, depend on ready-made food products to manage their fast-moving lifestyle. Although this has reduced the workload to a greater extent and saved a lot of time, I believe that the negative effects resulting from these food products are of greater concern than any benefits such dependance might bring.

Admittedly, there are some basic advantages for people depending on convenience foods. Firstly, it tends to reduce the work burden since it eliminates home cooking, which is often considered to be one of the heavy household chores by many. Secondly, a great deal of time would be saved. Pre-cooked meals would often be ready to eat within two or three minutes of heating in a microwave oven, while the regular home-cooked meals would take more than an hour to prepare. For instance, the cup noodles, which became famous after being used in post world war 2, just take a minute to be readied, whereas homemade noodles might consume hours for its preparation.

Nevertheless, despite the advantages above, there are serious consequences that could result from eating convenience foods regularly. Firstly, in reality, people tend to buy fast foods considering their cheap cost and ready availability. These junk foods are rich in calories and harmful fats, which causes heart diseases. Secondly, these ready-made meals contain added artificial additives and preservatives. These chemicals are proven to be carcinogens by various studies. One such study was published by Oxford university citing the presence of stomach cancer-causing chemicals in restaurant foods.

In conclusion, disease-causing ability, especially the cancer-producing substances, far outweigh any advantages for people who depend on convenience foods to cope up with their fast-paced lifestyle.