More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life, but city life can be extremely difficult. Explain some of the difficulties of living in a city. How can govt make urban life better for everyone?

Migration of people into cities in search of better quality of life is increasing, though city life has lots of drawbacks. Water scarcity and traffic congestion are the two main problems of urban life; However, government can improve the infrastructure of metro water facilities and public transportation to curb these issues.

The foremost disadvantage of ever increasing city population is the lack of water to meet the demand. As people move and settle in cities in search of jobs and other purposes, the city’s existing water resource exhausts sooner than earlier and leave the residents in trouble. Not only will this be a burden for the city people but also for the government, on whom the responsibility falls. If government were to build new water reservoirs in cities in direct proportion to the incoming migrants, demand for water may be met considerably.

The second most issue of denser city life is the heavy traffic congestion. Since the reason for migration to cities is to search for jobs to have a better life, more vehicles than usual are on roads as more people commute to work every day. The public transport system that is improvised and modernised to hold and to attract more number of passengers will reduce the number of private vehicles on roads. This was evident when every single stop of Tokyo was connected by metro train, people stopped using their own vehicles for transportation and consequently there was lesser number of vehicles on the roads.

To conclude, the population of cities is increasing due to constant inflow of migrants in search of jobs, because of which the city runs out of water resources much earlier and also has congested roads due to increasing number of private vehicles. That is why government needs to consider building new water reservoirs to meet the demand and improving the existing public transportation to discourage the people from using their own vehicles.