Some people think that children should be taught to be competitive in school. Others, however, say that co-operation and team working skills are more important. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

Some believe in teaching competitive skills to students in schools, while others prefer team-working and co-operation skills. Both the views has its own benefits, but in my opinion, all the three skills should be be taught to the school children.

Competitive skills are considered to be more important for survival, and that is the reason for some to stress its importance in teaching it in schools. In today’s world, the oppurtunities for education and livelihood are less and decreasing nevertheless, so it is must for anyone to be highly competitive and outscore others to grab those oppurtunities. School age is the perfect time to prepare children with those competitive skills before they reach adulthood. In japan, some schools dedicate a separate class hour to teach competitive skills and those students of those schools got university admission easily than those from schools that did not. Thus, the need for teaching school children to be competitive is proved to be necessary

However, others believe in upgrading school children with team-work and co-operative skills over other skills for two main reasons. First and foremost is the ability of adapting to the surroundings because most of our children will be working in a group, be it in IT sector or medical field. The other reason is to acquire friends as they grow up. Engaging with others in work harmoniously tends to yield good friendships. School students who were taught to be co-operative formed friends friends easily when they joined college. Therefore, adapting in groups and forming friends require team-work and co-operation skills, which is why they need to be taught in schools.

To conclude, team-work and co-operative skills and competitive skill are weighed separately when it comes to teaching them in schools, but I believe in teaching all those three skills to the school chidren as it would be added benefit for students.