Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some are of the opinion that students be let to study whatever they prefer in university, while others think that students should be restricted with options for subjects that are only useful for the future. Studying in their field of passion allows students to excel in their career, but the demand for people with knowledge in science and technology drives people to force students joining university to pursue courses related to it. I believe in allowing students to choose studies of their choice in the tertiary education.

The opinion of letting students to join courses they like in university is solely for the benefit of the student. Studying a subject of their liking never will be a work or an extra effort, rather, a joyful activity. This allows students to engage and involve with what they study in-depth, and as a result, they tend to perform well in their career with ease. University of Berkley found that students who joined aeronautics because of their parent’s compulsion performed poorly compared to those who joined the same course to follow their passion. Thus, it is clearly evident that students perform well and it is indeed a benefit for them if they study in accordance with their passion.

However, the need for the science graduates and engineers stresses the university students to study courses related to science and technology by some people. The massive development over the last century and predicted developments in the future outlay a loud requirment of science students. For instance, the leap of wired land-line telephones to wireless mobile phone within a decade because of rising demand, it took more than the existing number of engineers, and if this is going to be the case in future, the number of engineers to work in technology will be of an exponential rise to what it is today. This the reason for peopleto advise students to join science courses to meet the furture demand.

To counclude, some people want the choice of tertiary education to be of student’, as each individual has their own distinctive like, while others want university students to study science related courses to meet the demand of technology graduated in the future. I completely agree with the former’s view because it benefits a student if they were allowed to pursue the choice of their passion.