Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is evident that a major that individuals decide to continue education would have profound impact on their life. Some people argue that the whole of university students should continued education based on their interests. Whereas, others claim that they should just be permitted to study courses that will be advantageous in years later like those relevant to science and technology. The purpose of this essay is to analyse both sides of the argument and then I will explain why I believe the notion that letting youths to decide themselves is stronger.

there are people who argue that students to continue their studies as they please. People often have this opinion because it will guarantee their success. To elucidate it, if youths select a major that they are enthusiastic about, they will put a lot of time and tremendous effort into it which ultimately will culminate in making progress. Otherwise, it could bring boredom and hatred and even failure. one good illustration of this is about Iran where many youngsters are forced to become an engineer or physicians which might not be in accord with their desire. That is why, many of them are not satisfied in their life. In fact, they are not willing to devise a plan to make achievements related to their education. as well as this, it is true that everyone should be given the right to make decision in order to choose the educational path as it is wanted. Hence, the notion of giving freedom to students to study their favourite subject would be appealing for some people due to the possibility of becoming a successful person and their right to make a choice.

Conversely, it is possible to say the opposite view that students should be restricted to choose among specific matters which will be helpful. owing to the fact that, they are responsible towards their society and the budget has been spent on educating them at schools. As a result, they should not make decisions based on their preferences. Furthermore, they have to pay attention to their community's requirements. for instance, when their country is in an urgent need of medical workforce, it would be better if they chose those related fields to study at university. A second point is that the more students study practical sciences such as IT the more discoveries will be in future. This matter would benefit their nation more than other subjects which are mainly theoretical and do not make changes in short term. Consequently, some people think that university students should be led towards subjects which are invaluable in upcoming years because of their duty towards improving their country and the short-term benefits of these subjects.

By way of conclusion, I believe both arguments are important, however, on balance I feel that individuals should be given the chance to take full advantage of their passions and abilities towards making developments in their country which should be in conformity with what they want.