Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Moving towards the 21st century, many people are nowadays expressing a deeply growing concern about the role of significant subjects in social development. In fact, there are some who hold firmly to their belief that students should be only able to study subjects that will be valuable in the future, such as science and technology. However, others argue convincingly that students should be free to choose their area of study if they like. Therefore, some arguments both for and against this issue will be addressed in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, there are two main points for people to defend the former argument. First of all, it is a well-documented fact that if students learn these kinds of subjects, like science and technology, that can contribute visibly to society. The most obvious example to prove is that in the medical health area, inventing a new medicine must rely on advances in medical research, technology, and science. More students study these kinds of subjects will mean that there will be more people available for work in these areas. Furthermore, there is no doubt that the development of a nation, these days, highly depends on the technologically sound workforce, so students should be following the offers of the university curriculum. For instance, on the social level, by forcing people to choose particular university subjects, governments can guarantee that any knowledge and skills gap in economics are covered.

On the other hand, there are two primary pieces of evidence for people to support the latter argument. First and foremost, it is commonly accepted that every person in this world is likely to have humans right, which means they are free to select subjects at the university level. A clear example to prove is that students would not learn subjects that they have no interest at all. If a student forced to learn the program while he loves literature, it can lead to failure. Equally important, there is no denying that studying from passion is more effective in most of the cases. This is supported by the fact that nobody can predict which areas of knowledge will be the most useful in the future, so students who have talents in their field can follow their passion.

All things are considered, it is my strong belief that students should be the freedom to learn what they like. Accordingly, I strongly recommend the governments should enhance people’s awareness in terms of the crucial role of education in society. If this recommendation is carried out, the comprehensive development of our future generations will be secured.