International sporting events are costly and bring problems to the hosting country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give specific reasons and examples to support your position.

Countries that host international sporting events often end up in trouble due to the cost involved. The amount of money pumped in just for a week of this celebration makes the hosting nations to go bankrupt and remain in debt for years thereafter.

International sporting events, like Olympics and Wimbledon, receives a huge number of crowd from all across the world. Only a lavish and big stadiums can be used to conduct these events to accommodate the incoming massive audience, but these venues are not used more than once as a country may get chance only once to host such events, after which these constructions go into disuse. Moreover, it is a pride for the host to showcause themselves by establishing attractive venues, and the humungous cost involved in it becomes an inevitability. The London 2010 Olympic venue left the entire world in shock and surprise with their new built town with multiple stadiums.

This unnatural drive of a country to stand in pride when they host such events dumps them in unrealistic debt. Investing such a huge amount of money, which never returns, in a short duration sporting event is the first and foremost reason for bankruptcy. In addition, the venues after the end of festival will neither be used by local crowd nor for any other big sporting events as mentioned earlier.The same London 2010 olympic town was not used after the show till date, but the money British government spent building that town never came bank and it made british citizens to pay for it.

To conclude, I completely agree that hosting international sporting vents are expensive and it leaves the host country in massive financial crisis. Forgetting the imbalance between the cost and loss it involves and pride it offers remain the root cause for any nation to jump into hosting big sporting events.