Some people think that in order to prevent illness and disease, governments should try to reduce environmental pollution and housing problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

I completely agree to the statement that governement needs to control pollution and housing issues to prevent certain illnesses and diseases. A government may have several other ways to improve public health, but none has shown more effective than reducing pollution and resolving housing issues since these two are the man-made and root causes for most of the new epidemics.

Pollution is man-made, and so are the consequences it has on human health. Alteration to environment, be it in its chemical composition or physical properties, in which we live, negatively impacts our health. In other words, our body reacts to the changes in the surroundings which later presents as diseases. This was proved by Singapore government, when it successfully reduced the skin disorders’ incidence among its citizens after halting the enviroment polltuing lead factory operations. Therefore, a government can improve the public health if it protects the enviroment from pollution.

Improper housing, especially over-crowding, is one another etiology for some diseases to prevail and spread, yet a reversible cause by the government. Congested way of living has more chances for certain infections to transmit easily, so a standard surface area per individual for contructing a new home must be set by the government. Indian government tackled the spread of tuberculosis in cities that contain closely knitted housings by displacing the people to newly built homes, which has been constructed as per basic health standards. Thus, the housing problems, a cause for spread of certain infections, can be curbed by government if it were to mandate stringent rules for construction of residential buildings.

To conclude, it is believed by some, and I, that a government should atempt to control pollution as well as housing issues to prevent few illnesses and diseases. As they are the two main man-made causes for poor public health, government has the resposibility to control and also these two factors have shown to be correctable by Indian and Singapore government.