Some countries encourage children to do paid work. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Children are motivated to work for pay by countries. Eventhough it has some benefits like improvement in financial status and exposure to the outside world, it has some drawbacks like disturbances to the basic education and future career of the children.

Conversely, the consequences of doing paid joba from a young age can devastating for a child. Firstly, the basic education, which every child must have, is completely disturbed by the work as children are unable to do two things at once. Secondly, the future career of the child is lost as a consequence of improper basic education. When a child is deprived of basic education, it can never learn the basic skills and climb the ladder in their career, rather ends up being exploited in slave jobs. This was evident in Meghalaya’s jute industry where the children are made to work 20 hours a day in order to prevent them from going to schools and make these children to depend on these jute industries forever for money.

To conclude, children are made to do paid jobs in some countries. The advantages of this includes improvement of the child’s financial status and exposure to the outside world to learn many things, but paid jobs at a young age ruins a child’s education as well as its future career.