Nowadays families are not as close as they used to be.

What do you think are the causes of this?

What can be done to make families closer?

The closeness between families has reduced greatly compared to the past. Lack of time due to a busy work schedule and preference for privacy are the two main reasons. At the same, allocating some time for family get-togethers tend to make families interact with one another.

First and foremost reason is unavailability of time. Almost everyone is employed today and the only time they get apart from work is weekends since the after-work hours of weekdays are often spent within family members and in taking rest. Considering the weekends, people prefer spending those days for themselves, privately, whether it is watching a film or doing an activity related to their hobby and so on. Privacy plays an important role next to time deficiency. For instance, in the life of a middle-class family, parents would be busy working on weekdays and concentrating on their children's activity during weekends sparing no time fo communicating to the outside. Consequently, isolating them from others in the meantime.

One and the only way to bring families closer is families get-togethers. Proper time should be allocated to meet and mingle with relatives, maybe during festive occasions or any other ceremonies, where relationships will be strengthened, new family bonds will be created, and problems will be sorted out. For example, unmarried people may get a chance to meet their spouse in family gatherings, and thereby increasing the family network. Therefore, family meetings must be organised, whenever possible.

To conclude, families lost their closeness lately due to lack of free time and privacy; however, family get-togethers have clearly proven to unite families.