International sporting events are costly and bring problems to the hosting country. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give specific reasons and examples to support your position.

Countries hosting international sporting events, which are always expensive, often ends up in financial crisis post the event. Investing huge amount of money without a guarantee of its return for several reasons is the root cause to this financial crisis.

A country spends on a sporting event is solely to establish its pride and showcase its potential in the international platform. Sporting events, like Olympics and Wimbledon, prodive such forums. This unnatural drive to waste humongous amount on an event that lasts only a week or two eats out more than half of the country’s available fund since such events not only about constructing stadiums and courts but also to house participating athletes fom all around the world. For instance, the London 2010 Olympics had a new lavish town built to accommodate players in additional to big stadiums.

However, there is also a hope that hosting such events would encourage their own citizens to participate in sports and the venues may be used by locals to train themselves. Eventhough the housings of venues will be of no use, the game courts could be used. This particular hope never seem to realise the reality. For example, the same London Olympic town and sporting constructions went into disuse afte the ceremony and the money that has been pumped in it never returned. Consequently, leaving the citizens and generations pay for it in the form of tax.

To conclude, international sporting events requires massive funds to organise and conduct. Countries hosting such events for pride and hope of motivating their own citizens fails to realise the debt it brings.