computers are being used more and more in education.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages and give your own opinion.

Usage of computers in education is becoming increasingly popular. Although there are several drawbacks for it including visual impairment and mental stress, advantages of doing so are many and that is the reason it has gained such popularity

The first and foremost problem of using computers, particularly for the purpose of education, is visual damage. The bright light illuminated from its screen tends to harm a sensitive eye structure named retina. The institute of ophthalmology has reported that if a person is constantly exposed to a computer monitor for 20 hours a day for a year, 50 per cent of the vision will be lost. Consequently, the eye will be strained to read from or type something in computer to compensate for the lost vision, which causes repeated headaches and eventually resulting in mental stress. This correlation was, in fact, proven by the same institute.

On the other hand, the computer opens the door for infinite benefits in education. Firstly, it helps students to learn faster because of rapid process and simultaneous multiple content access. Secondly, the burden of carrying books and notes will be completely eliminated since all the materials can be stored in one system in a click. Cambridge University reported that 90% of its students use electronic study materials rather than books. Thus, computers are inevitable in education considering its benefits.

To conclude, computers have replaced the traditional method of learning, for instance through books, lately. It may have some negative impacts on the health of the individuals, but, in my mind, its benefits had outweighed them to a larger extent.